Events Links Resources

35th Annual

Waseca Marching Classic

Waseca, Minnesota

Saturday, September 17, 2022

12:00 PM Parade
Downtown Waseca

5:15 PM Field Show
8:40 PM Awards and Fireworks

Waseca Jr.-Sr. H.S. Stadium
1717 2nd St NW
Waseca, MN 56093

[View Google Map]

Waseca Marching Classic
Share this page:

For More Information

Web: WasecaMarching

Devon Lawrence, Band Director

Phone: 507-835-5470, ext. 3524
View more Featured Events

Home > Featured Events > Waseca Marching Classic
 Waseca Marching Classic Celebration The Waseca Marching Classic is noted for its hospitality and well-rounded experience for participating bands. Details such as educational clinics, a large community parade and a fireworks display have become hallmarks of the Classic.

The Classic is celebrating its 35th year. The parade begins at 12:00pm in downtown Waseca. Thousands of spectators line the parade route which travels on State Street from 2nd Avenue SE to 6th Avenue NE. Professional judges critique the parade and field competitions. Throughout the day, these same judges/clinicians offer one-hour educational clinics to the participating bands. The 5:15pm field show at the Waseca Jr.-Sr. High School Stadium features bands competing in three classes. The awards ceremony is followed by the grand finale, the Classic fireworks display, a favorite of the band students.

Interested bands can get more information and register online at Classification is determined by school enrollment, but special circumstances will be considered by the Classic committee for bands with less experience or personnel. Bands that register by August 15 are eligible for one of three bonus "band participation" prizes ranging from $250 to $500. See for details.

2021 Results

 Waseca Marching Classic PARADE
63.1 Adrian-Ellsworth, MN
58.0 Eagle Grove, IA

75.6 Eastview, MN (Horn Line, Percussion)
72.7 Lakeville South, MN (Color Guard)
68.2 Stewartville, MN (Drum Majors)

Waseca Marching Jays

People's Choice: Lakeville South, MN
Parade Sweepstakes: Eastview, MN

65.8 Rochester Lourdes, MN
58.4 Luverne, MN
56.5 Pipestone, MN

73.0 Spirit Lake, IA
64.5 Algona, IA
64.3 Andover, MN
62.0 Coon Rapids, MN
58.9 Hutchinson, MN (Drum Majors)

81.2 Eastview, MN (Horn Line)
79.5 Eden Prairie, MN (Color Guard, Percussion)
77.1 Lakeville South, MN

Waseca Marching Jays

Herb Streitz Spirit Award: Spirit Lake, IA
Field Sweepstakes: Eastview, MN
Richard "Butch" Dufault Sweepstakes Award (60% Field + 40% Parade): Eastview, MN

Related Events

• A 10-15 minute fireworks display is presented immediately after the awards ceremony.

Future Dates

Saturday, September 17, 2022
Saturday, September 23, 2023
Saturday, September 21, 2024
(Always held on the second-to-last Saturday in September)

For More Information


Devon Lawrence, Band Director
Phone: 507-835-5470, ext. 3524